On Thursday 27th September, 2012 a seminar and workshop on Embedded System Design was organized by IEEE AIUB Student Branch. The daylong event was conducted by instructors from TECHSHOP BD and Pi Labs Bangladesh Ltd.
The event was hosted by Mr. Abrar Faisal, lecturer EEE dept. The program started with a speech by Prof. Dr. ABM Siddique Hossain, Dean (Faculty of Engineering) followed by speeches from Dr. Tafazzal Hossain, Vice President (Academics) and Dean (Faculty of Science and IT) and Mr. Mahmudul Hasan Sohag, Chairman, OnnoRokom Group. Mr. Rinku Basak, Assistant Professor & Head(Graduate Program), Dept. of EEE, Md. Abdur Rahman, Assistant Professor and Head (Undergrad Program) of EEE Department, Mr. Shahriar Masud Rizvi, Assistant Professor, Mr. Farhadur Arifin, Assistant Professor, Mr. Md. Ali Noor, Assistant Professor, Mr. Md. Shamsul Arefin, Assistant Professor, and Lecturers Mr.Nafiz Ahmed Chisty, Mr. D.M.S. Sultan, Mr. Chowdhury Akram Hossain, Mr. Md. Saniat Rahman Zishan, Mr. Subrata Biswas, Ms. Nabila Hossain, Ms. Nadia Nowshin, Mr. Bishwajit Banik Pathik, Mr. Mahir Asif Mohammed, Mr. Abu Qauser Marowan, Mr. Shuvra Saha, Mr. Sakib Ahmed, Mr. Md. Tanvir Hasan and others from EEE Department were also present during the event.
The event started with a seminar outlining Embedded Systems. A detailed picture of the importance of Embedded Systems, the recent trends and their prospects in Bangladesh was described in the seminar. Various FPGAs and ASICs were showcased in the seminar as well.
After Lunch(provided by Onnorokom Group) the workshop commenced where the students divided into 5 teams, took to programming microcontrollers with the help of the instructors. Each team was then provided a rudimentary microcontroller based robot to program.
IEEE AIUB Student Branch would like to thank TECHSHOP BD and Pi Labs Bangladesh Ltd (sister concerns of Onnorokom Group) for their brilliant effort in the program. We wish them luck and hope to arrange more events like this in the future. We would also like to express our gratitude to Mr. Ahsanul Kabir of OnnoRokom Group,Mr. Abrar Faisal, Mr. Chowdhury Akram Hossain ,Mr. Md. Saniat Rahman Zishan and others for making the event possible.
More picture Click here..