New Faculty Orientation Program – Spring 2008-2009

AIUB New Faculty Orientation Program for Spring 08-09 Semester was held on January 13, 2009 at AIUB Auditorium, Campus-1. This time it was a day long program and segmented into several sessions. Dr. Anwarul Abedin, Honorable Chairman, AIUB and Dr. Carmen Z. Lamagna, Vice Chancellor, AIUB joined the program at the end of the post-lunch session in the presence of Prof. Dr. Anwar Hossain, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Prof. Dr. Tafazzal Hossain, Vice President, Academics, Mr. R. Tareque Moudud, Director, OPA, Prof. Dr. A B M Siddique Hossain, Dean, Faculty of Science, Lt. Col Mohammed Golam Maula (Retd.), Director of Administration, Mr. Maksudur Rahman Sarker, Director of AQAC and others. The program started at 8.30 am in the morning with the Registration and Breakfast session.   Thirty new faculty members were present there. During that session the new faculty members got the opportunity to meet with their fellow colleagues. The Registration and Breakfast session was followed by the pre-lunch session. This session was like a training session for the new faculties. In this session they were elaborately informed about the Rules and Regulations of the University. Prof. Dr. Anwar Hossain talked about the University’s Vision, Mission, Goals, and Core Values. He had also explained the basic academic policies, general guidelines for the faculty members and informed about different departments and offices of the University.
Mr. R. Tareque Moudud, Director of OPA, elaborately explained about the exam & grading policy and some HR related issues. Prof. Dr. Tofazzal Hossain, Vice President -Academics, briefed the new faculties about the teaching method, disciplinary actions and what should be the teacher-student relationship. Lt. Col Mohammed Golam Maula (Retd.), The Director of Administration mentioned the policies adopted by the university to maintain discipline in the campus area.
Mr. Danilo G. Morgia the Director of IT informed the new Faculty Members about the IT facilities and how to use the IT resources of the University.Library book borrowing system was explained by Mr. Sadiquzzaman, Deputy Librarian.
Dr. Faheem Hasan Shahed, Head of English department briefed mainly about the uniform and general guideline for question setter. He also explained about the Classroom Observation Checklist and Teacher’s Performance Evaluation (TPE)   
In the post-lunch session Mr. Maksudur Rahman Sarker, Director of AQAC, Mr. Tareque Moudud, Director of OPA, Mr. Manzur H. Khan, Coordinator of OSA, Mr. Ziarat H. Khan, Coordinator of ORP and Mr. Abdul Kader Nazmul Coordinator of Office of Sports gave brief presentation of their respective departments and highlighted some of the important activities of their offices.
Mr. Maksudur Rahman Sarker briefed about the objectives and activities of Office of Probation (OP) and Office of Planning and Development (OPD).
The faculty members were informed about the Research Facilities provided by the university. This topic was covered by the Dean, faculty of science, Prof. Dr. ABM Siddique Hossani and Mr. Neaz Ahmed, Associate Professor of Business Faculty.
After that the new faculty members got the opportunity to meet Dr. Anwarul Abedin, the Honorable Chairman, and Dr. Carmen Z. Lamagna, Honorable Vice Chancellor of AIUB. Both of them were very delighted to welcome the new faculty members to the AIUB family. Finally the Pro-Vice Chancellor Prof. Dr. Anwar Hossain proposed a vote of thanks and called the end of the day long program with the invitation of light refreshment with the Honorable Chairman and Vice Chancellor.